The Young Furniture Makers exhibition

Wednesday 5 December 2018

Lewis Small, Wilf Floor Lamp

Breakthrough design talent from across the UK came together in London on 10 October 2018 to exhibit for one day only at The Furniture Makers’ Company’s annual Young Furniture Makers exhibition.

Around 90 pieces of furniture and lighting from GCSE and A Level students through to BA and MA graduates packed out the Dutch Church and Furniture Makers’ Hall in Austin Friars, London, contributing to one of the best displays in the exhibition’s more than 10 year history.

Beatrix Bray, Fluctuare Table

The Young Furniture Makers exhibition, sponsored by Axminster Tools & Machinery, Harveys Furniture, Bensons for Beds and The Furniture Ombudsman, is completely free for participants to exhibit at and provides the next generation of designers and makers an invaluable opportunity to present their designs to key members of the furnishing and design sector.

Mac Collins, Iklwa Chair

Hayden Davies, Master of The Furniture Makers’ Company, officially welcomed guests at 7.00pm before presenting this year’s awards, which were assessed during the day by a panel of distinguished judges.

 This year’s judges were: Anthony Bailey, editor of Woodworking Crafts Magazine; Steven Minghella, retail sales manager at Timothy Oulton; Rupert Senior, multiple award-winning designer-maker; Peter Sharratt, technical support advisor at Blum; and Alan Styles, managing director at Axminster Tools & Machinery.

Brodie Haward, Radioactive Bench

The winners of the awards were:

  • The Young Furniture Makers Bespoke Award, sponsored by Festool, was awarded to Beatrix Bray for the Fluctuare Table
  • The Young Furniture Makers Design Award, sponsored by Crofts & Assinder, was awarded to Lewis Small for the Wilf Floor Lamp
  • The Young Furniture Makers Innovation Award, sponsored by Knightsbridge, was awarded to Matt Hill for the Array Table
  • The National School Prize was awarded to Brodie Haward for the Radioactive Bench
  •  The Blum Best in Show Prize was awarded to Harriet Speed for Corkey’s Cabinet
  • The Timothy Oulton Best in Show Prize was awarded to Mac Collins for the Iklwa Chair.

Harriet Speed, Corkey’s Cabinet

 This year’s exhibition also included a special feature of six chairs from the Frederick Parker Collection, an educational resource owned by The Furniture Makers’ Company that includes over 200 chairs and archive material spanning 300 years of history.

Master Hayden Davies said:

“The Young Furniture Makers exhibition continues to go from strength to strength and the 2018 event showed that there is a lot of exceptional, up and coming talent out there. The Young Furniture Makers exhibition brings together all elements of The Furniture Makers’ Company’s wide education output, the culmination being a tremendous celebration of incredibly gifted young designers who want to build long and successful careers in the industry”.


Photos courtesy of Worshipful Company of Furniture Makers unless where stated. ‘Fluctuare’ table photo– GMC/Anthony Bailey