Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice: Turning bigger diameters

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Brend View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brend Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice: Turning bigger diameters
    Posted: 22 Jan 2020 at 11:05am
Hi guys.
I'm new to the woodturning side of things and wanted to ask for some advice. 
I've recently been asked to make some percussion instruments (i am a Luther and piano technician). And wanted to start with some Congas. My main problem is that the diameter is way to big for most lathes, however length seems to be okay.
I was thinking of somehow propping up the head and drill chuck. But not sure if that's the best way to go about. Any insight or advice is greatly appreciated.  

Cheers,
Brend
DavidBuskell View Drop Down
Senior Craftsman
Senior Craftsman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DavidBuskell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2020 at 12:25pm
Brend, have a chat with some of the guys your side of the pond. You have a lot of good woodturning clubs over there and you may find guidance and info locally.
There are also a few articles about which deal with making drums etc., which might be worth checking out.
Ian Thorn View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ian Thorn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2020 at 8:14pm
Check out Woodwork Forums it is an Australian site some guys on there with big Lathes and very helpful We used to turn them on a flying head lathe in Melbourne in the 70s .

Ian
happynes is shavings flying
Brend View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brend Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jan 2020 at 10:06pm