Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Marquetry Questions

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
SarahW View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SarahW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marquetry Questions
    Posted: 02 Nov 2019 at 4:50pm
Hello Everyone!

My name is Sarah, I'm in my final year of study on a 3D Design course in London.
I'm currently writing my dissertation on the topic of 'the role of craft (marquetry) value in the current society as a response to homogenous manufactured products. I was wondering if anyone's willing to answer some questions that will help me with my dissertation.

I hope its ok to start a thread like this on here. Please let me know if this is not a good way or its in the wrong area, I’ll remove it (as its my first time doing a forum post). I thought this will be a good way to gather information from different craftsmen on their opinion about the value of marquetry, instead of cold-emailing and disturbing those who are too polite to ignore my email. This way, if anyone does have an answer to my questions, they can just reply me online.

Below are a list of the questions I’ve compiled – apologies if these questions are too obvious or you’ve heard a lot of it before but I need to show evidence of primary research.

Thank you,
Sarah

1)     With the advance in technology, there are so many other methods out there - such as laser cutters and online software that will assist the production of marquetry. But many still choose to use the most traditional and manual method of hand carving instead? What is the irreplaceable feature of the handmade?
2)     Do you think people are returning back to these hand produced techniques as a response to this mass manufactured society?