Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Best Material for open wardrobe

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Picaflor View Drop Down
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Picaflor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best Material for open wardrobe
    Posted: 08 Oct 2018 at 11:50pm
Hi, this is my first post on here and I apologise if this has already been covered but I can't quite find what I want to know.

I work as a handyman and builder but I am really interested in learning how to make quality fitted furniture (also more unusual stuff for personal interest but that's another story). I have my first real job coming up to build a very simple fitted wardrobe 2400 x 2200 x 620mm  with no doors and three 1200mm wide drawers. I have made the design on sketchup and I am confident I can do all the joinery techniques required, but my lack of experience is leaving one big question - what to build it out of?

She wants it all white and as minimal as possible so ideally hidden fixings. Also the top is to be used a a long shelf so I want it to be strong. She's paying a good price I am building to last so I want to make sure I am using the best material for the job.

My first thought was a good quality 18mm birch or hardwood ply with 5mm for the backer and 12mm for the drawer bottoms. This is really just because I have a lot of experience doing other work with ply and it seemed like the right idea. My brother has a lot more years general building experience than me and he said MDF would be a better choice for this project. I see some people saying veneered blockboard and some using ply but doubling up the sheets for increased stiffness.

Obviously there is the added thing that it will all need painting white unless I buy something pre-coloured, and I have to say painting is not my favourite job...