Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

My first spoon

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
dunkhooper View Drop Down
Veteran Craftsman
Veteran Craftsman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dunkhooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: My first spoon
    Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 9:20am
My wife got me some mora spoon carving knives  This is my first attempt at carving anything really. I really enjoyed the process. This is spalted english walnut which was probably a bit dry to use but it was good for practice knife cuts. C and c welcome cheers Duncan 
Cheers Dunk
Jack-In-The-Green-1 View Drop Down
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jack-In-The-Green-1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 6:08pm
Hello Duncan and welcome to the carving side of the forum! Smile

Its a great looking spoon (especially for your first attempt). I'm glad you enjoyed the carving process and hope you find it quite addictive!

Not too sure on the practicalities of using a spalted wood for a utility spoon but for decorative purposes it looks great.

Keep carving and show us your progress

Kind regards
David
Veteran Craftsman
Veteran Craftsman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dunkhooper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 6:27pm
Thanks David for your comment. It is only a decorative spoon and yes I will try making more . I have some Holly I want to use next time. Cheers Duncan 
Cheers Dunk
Ian Thorn View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ian Thorn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Feb 2019 at 8:26pm
You have an all round talent Dunk that is a very good first spoon & not easy in spalted wood

Ian
happynes is shavings flying
Robson Valley View Drop Down
Tradesman
Tradesman