Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Erratic results

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Handcrafter View Drop Down
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Handcrafter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Erratic results
    Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 4:37pm
I'm relatively new to turning. but not, I should emphasise to woodworking - I've been contributing to woodworking journals (both tehcnical and project articles) since 2004.
 I've got a Record DML18SH lathe, and have watched Alan Holtham's accompanying video many times. Over a period of a few weeks I've been practising bowl turning - just working through a succession of bowl blanks, turning just th outsides at this stage, to practise the gouge movement, aiming to get a smooth, continuous cut and a good finish straight from the tool. I've made pretty good progress, and the last few bowls i turned had a very nice finish that required very little sanding - beautiful spiral  shavings coming off the blank and a lovely gentle hiss al suggested i was getting something pretty damn right.
As part of this, I've also familiarised myself with my Sorby ProEdge, and have certainly found much benefit from the 'little and often' approach to sharpening.
Today, i did all the same things, but for some reason am having terrible problems that seem like vibration - the gouge starts to vibrate alarmingly as I get about half-way round the cut. A hand on the spinning blank and also on the top of the headstock detects no sign of it - it's only manifest as the gouge cuts through the timber.
I've resharpened the gouge, adjusted the position of the rest, checked all the levers etc are tight - and yet it keeps happening.
The same thing happened a few days ago, and i abandoned the session. When i returned the next day, sharpened the gouge and started again, all was well.
I'm baffled as to what the issue might be.
Any ideas welcome.