Forums

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Drilling on the lathe

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Handcrafter View Drop Down
Journeyman
Journeyman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Handcrafter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Drilling on the lathe
    Posted: 07 Nov 2019 at 11:04pm
Having made a bit of progress in the basic skills of spindle and bowl turning, I'd like to push ahead a little and try something new, so am thinking of doing some salt and pepper mills which will consolidate my spindle turning work and also require drilling. 
Any advice on this subject will be gratefully received, particularly:
I gather that sawtooth bits are good for this - there seem to be a huge variety on the market - any thoughts on some decent quality ones without going completely insane - I'm a hobbyist after all!
Any advice on lathe speeds
Any pitfalls of which I should be aware?
I've got my name down for a turning course at a local club in the spring, but (a) I don't really want to wait that long and (b) that hope is in any case likely to be dashed as I'm also on the waiting list for an operation which might then mean deferring the turning course until Autumn 2020.
So if I can safely make a start now, I'd like to.
Check out my stuff at www.michaelforsterwoodwork.weebly.com
ron.d View Drop Down
Veteran Craftsman
Veteran Craftsman

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ron.d Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2019 at 12:31pm
There are drill bits and then again there are drill bits. Get decent ones, a set will be used more often than you think. First do the kiss test, align the head and tail stocks so the points of the dive and tail stock centres align.
Then slow the lathe down to a slowest speed, you will be using a fair sized bit and it will generate a surprising amount of heat.